Regan, FOP to Honor Fallen Police Officers at Service Monday

HARRISBURG – State Sen. Mike Regan (R-31) will join the Pennsylvania Fraternal Order of Police (FOP) at a ceremony Monday, May 6, at 5 p.m. in the Main Rotunda of the state Capitol, to honor six fallen police officers who died in the line of duty.

Regan is introducing a Senate resolution to honor the six fallen officers, who include:

  • Patrolman Charles G. Stipetich, Oakdale Borough Police Department, who died Sunday, July 3, 2022.
  • Chief Justin McIntire, Brackenridge Borough Police Department, who died Monday, Jan. 2, 2023.
  • Police Officer Sean Sluganski, McKeesport Police Department, who died Monday, Feb. 6, 2023.
  • Sgt. Christopher Fitzgerald, Temple University Police Department, who died Saturday, Feb. 18, 2023.
  • Trooper Jacques F. Rougeau Jr., Pennsylvania State Police, who died Saturday, June 17, 2023.
  • Sgt. Richard Carrero Mendez, Philadelphia Police Department, who died Thursday, Oct. 12, 2023.

Regan’s resolution would designate May 6 as Police Officers’ Memorial Day in Pennsylvania and recognize the week of May 12-18 as National Police Week.

Prior to serving in the state Senate, Regan enjoyed a 23-year career in law enforcement as a member of the U.S. Marshals Service.

Regan has introduced similar resolutions in the past in coordination with the annual FOP Pennsylvania State Lodge Police Memorial Ceremony to honor law enforcement officers killed in the line of duty.

Watch live at 

MEDIA CONTACT: Bruce McLanahan

Back to Top