Senator Regan Announces School Safety and Security and Mental Health Funding for Local Schools

HARRISBURG, PA – School safety and security grants and school mental health grants totaling over $7,800,000 were awarded to school districts in Cumberland and York Counties for Fiscal Year 2022-2023, according to Senator Mike Regan (R-Cumberland/York).

The following School Districts will receive the subsequent awards:

Big Spring SD                                                            $ 276,100.00

Camp Hill SD                                                             $ 237,205.00

Carlisle Area SD                                                         $ 352,982.00

Central York SD                                                         $ 375,029.00

Cumberland Perry Area Career & Technical Center $ 140,000.00

Cumberland Valley SD                                              $ 485,762.00

Crispus Attucks CS                                                    $ 140,000.00

Dallastown SD                                                            $ 398,687.00

Dover Area SD                                                           $ 310,246.00

East Pennsboro Area SD                                            $ 280,567.00

Eastern York SD                                                         $ 274,974.00

Hanover Public SD                                                     $ 263,108.00

Lincoln CS                                                                  $ 140,000.00

Mechanicsburg Area SD                                            $ 334,643.00

Northeastern York SD                                                $ 322,261.00

Northern York County SD                                         $ 298,537.00

Red Lion Area SD                                                      $ 355,821.00

Shippensburg Area SD                                               $ 304,605.00

South Eastern SD                                                        $ 277,243.00

South Middleton SD                                                   $ 264,724.00

South Western SD                                                      $ 333,849.00

Spring Grove Area SD                                               $ 321,854.00

West Shore SD                                                           $ 424,054.00

West York Area SD                                                    $ 294,358.00

York Academy Regional CS                                      $ 140,000.00

York Co School of Technology                                  $ 140,000.00

York City SD                                                              $ 441,215.00

York Suburban SD                                                     $ 294,921.00

Eligible uses for the grants include hiring school security officers, purchasing security-related technology, completing safety and security assessments, implementing violence prevention curricula, offering counseling services for students, and creating other programs to protect students.

The funds are part of a $190,000,000 statewide appropriation for school safety and school mental health in the FY2022-2023 budget.

“There is nothing more important than protecting our children and educators by ensuring our schools are safe and secure. This has been a top priority of mine since taking office, and I’m proud that Senate Republicans took a stand to keep our children safe at school. I’m pleased that our schools will now have the resources to provide enhanced mental health services and security measures, and I’m proud to have fought for and voted to secure this appropriation increase,” stated Regan.

The total appropriation for each school includes one-half of its appropriation for school safety and security and one-half of its appropriation for school mental health.


CONTACT: Bruce McLanahan, (717)-787-8524

Back to Top